Little Pockets of This American Life

Being the NPR nerd (enthusiast) that I am, I thought it would be a fun challenge to develop a concept for This American Life. I wanted the illustration to capture little pieces of America which come together in a folk-art inspired, stacked landscape.

These little pockets of life include a looming big city, a pancake flippin’ lumberjack cabin, a bustling apartment complex, a cookie cutter suburb, a bonafide hippie camp, and a black sheep farm.

Extra points if you can name that big city…
Fun Fact: Adventures in Babysitting used one of those buildings in a scene. (Imagine a miniature Elizabeth Shue).

Linework:

NEWWEBLinework

Little Pockets:

Preview Linework small

Color:

4NEWWEBJaimeAndersonThisAmericanLife

11 comments
  1. Sarah said:

    Minneapolis! Nice work, Jaime!

  2. Rachel said:

    And are you selling copies of this print?

    • I may sell prints of this illustration in the next few months. Please feel free to send me your email and I can let you know when I have prints available.

  3. Leah said:

    Love it. My favorite is the pair of sun bathers/star-gazers/cloud-gazers/nappers. Nice job!

  4. Anne said:

    I’m a big fan of TAL and a new fan of yours! Viewed your gallery and enjoyed the ever-present creativity. Please let me know if/when this print will be available for sale.

  5. Curtis Flowers said:

    This is beautiful! Nice work. Really cool!

Leave a Reply

